Home Politics The Real Story And Heroes Of BVAS And Electronic Transmission Of Results

The Real Story And Heroes Of BVAS And Electronic Transmission Of Results


The 2023 election will mark the beginning of a new dawn in Nigeria political and electioneering trajectory. For the first time in history elections will be conducted with technology. Accreditation of voters will be done with BVAS Machine, just as results generated at every polling unit shall also be snapped right there on the spot and transmitted straight to INEC Server.

This is a drastic and dramatic departure from the old order of manual process which was fraught with unprecedented hitches, like ballot box snatching and stuffing, thuggery and violence, result manipulation and falsifications, and the declaration and return as elected candidates the electorate never voted for.

Since the signing into law of that revolutionary act there has been so much excitement and celebration in the polity and that is quite understandable.

The use of machines from all indication will drastically cut down manipulation. It may not do that 100% but those knowledgeable enough about the innovation say it may reduce electoral shenanigans to as much as 70%.

By all standards that will be a great start. It is therefore necessary that Nigerians take some time off their tight engagements now and then to laud the key protagonists of this imminent dawn.

Yes, President Buhari signed it into law and hesitantly too, but the original policy of his party was to kill and bury that bill right on the floor of the senate, which was reason 58 of APC senators voted against the bill when it was put to vote in March this year.

Beyond that APC also deployed carrot and stick strategy to woo and intimidate opposition lawmakers and again succeeded in getting ten PDP senators and eighteen of APC to shun sitting that fateful voting day. Those who absented are: Theodore Orji (PDP-Abia Central), Yaroe Binos Dauda (PDP-Adamawa South), Stella Oduah (PDP-Anambra North),Ike Ekweramadu (PDP-Enugu West), Patrick Ifieanyi Uba (YPP-Anambra South), Adetokunbo Abiru (APC-Lagos East), Bala Ibn Na’Allah (APC-Kebbi South), Tolu Odebiyi (APC-Ogun West), Ibikunle Amosun (APC-Ogun Central), Olalekan Mustapha (APC-Ogun East), Nicholas Tofowomo (PDP-Ondo South), Teslim Folarin (APC-Oyo Central), Buhari Abdulfatai (APC-Oyo North), Aliyu Wamakko (APC-Sokoto North), Ibrahim Shekarau (APC-Kano Central), Lilian Uche Ekwunife (PDP-Anambra Central), Gabriel Suswam (PDP-Benue North-East), Abba Moro (PDP-Benue South), Mohammed Bulkachuwa (APC-Bauchi North), Emmanuel Bwacha (PDP-Taraba South), Mohammed Hassan (APC-Zamfara Central), Olubunmi Adetunmbi (APC-Ekiti North), Chimaroke Nnamani (PDP-Enugu East), Rochas Okorocha (APC-Imo West), Mohammed Sabo (APC-Jigawa South-West, Barau Jibrin (APC-Kano North), Ibrahim Gaidam (APC-Yobe East), Umar Sadiq (APC-Kwara North. But 28 senators refused to succumb to the arm twisting and intimidation of the ruling APC and voted for full electronic transmission of election results.

Those who voted for INEC to unilaterally decide to transmit results are:
▪︎Enyinnaya Abaribe (APGA -Abia South)

▪︎Francis Adenigba Fadahunsi (PDP-Osun East)

▪︎Clifford Ordia (PDP-Edo Central)

▪︎Matthew Urhoghide (PDP-Edo South)

▪︎Gyang Istifanus (PDP-Plateau North)

▪︎George Sekibo (PDP-Rivers East)

▪︎Biodun Olujimi (PDP-Ekiti South)

▪︎Mpigi Barinada (PDP-Rivers South-East)

▪︎Betty Apiafi (PDP-Rivers West)

▪︎Philip Aduda (PDP-Abuja FCT)

▪︎Chukwuka Utazi (PDP-Enugu North)

▪︎Ibrahim Abdullahi Danbaba (PDP-Sokoto South)

▪︎Danjuma La’ah (PDP-Kaduna South)

▪︎Francis Ezenwa Onyewuchi (LP-Imo East)

▪︎Patrick Ayo Akinyelure (PDP-Ondo Central)

▪︎Kola Balogun (PDP-Oyo South)

▪︎Eyankeyi Akon Etim (PDP-Akwa Ibom South)

▪︎Christopher Ekpenyong (PDP-Akwa Ibom North-West)

▪︎Seriake Dickson (PDP-Bayelsa West)

▪︎Cleopas Zuwoghe (PDP-Bayelsa Central)

▪︎Emmanuel Orker-jev (PDP-Benue North-West)

▪︎Sandy Onor (PDP-Cross River Central)

▪︎Gershom Bassey (PDP-Cross River South)

▪︎James Manager (PDP-Delta South)

▪︎Obinna Ogba (PDP-Ebonyi Central)

▪︎Sam Egwu (PDP-Ebonyi North)

▪︎Nnachi Ama Micheal (PDP-Ebonyi South)

▪︎Bassey Albert Akpan (PDP Akwa Ibom North-East)

These men and women are the real heroes of the new era we are about to enter. They deserve to be celebrated and honoured for leading the struggle which all Nigerian patriots joined that forced the ruling APC to capitulate, and eventually sign it into law.

History and posterity will definitely remember them with a good narrative.

Credit: Unanimous


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here